Sportfishing reviews and testimonials

Captain Frank was awesome

“We took a half day trip which I went on and the next day my husband and daughter went on a full day trip. The first day we trolled along the reef. We saw turtles and dolphin. “


Wonderful memories to last a lifetime!!!!

“My wife and I were with three other couples and we fished with Captain Frank and his crew on a full day charter on July 14th.”


Fishing trip of a lifetime!

“My family and I recently returned from a CCA Auction trip to Tamarindo, Costa Rica.
All arrangements were made through Liisa and Steve Quinn with”


“The Only Boat to Book!”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 25 August 2014

I recently Visited Tamorindo from NYC and was interviewing Captains for months. When we arrived after speaking to numerous captains, I was lucky enough to get in touch with Frank. Being from NYC, where the word patience has been removed from the dictionary. I got right into explaining that we are avid boaters, we came to catch Marlin and not to go on a boat ride. After speaking with Frank for a few minutes I liked what I heard. AS soon as I met them on the beach, I could tell that these guys knew what they were doing. Frank’s mate Mario is one of the best mates I have seen in my 30 years plus fishing. Mario was constantly working the 7 trolling lines with meticulously rigged ballyhoo. We even offered to increase the fare to run further if necessary to catch fish and they politely declined taking more money from us. Sure enough , an hour into fishing we landed our first sailfish. Inside of 45 minutes our first Blue Marlin. At this point the trip was as good as complete , we didn’t even need to catch anymore fish, we were happy. But Frank and Mario kept pushing. We found a piece of debris, and started catching tuna like sunnies in a pond. Without even suggesting it Mario live lined a tuna and inside of minutes we were hooked up with our second Blue Marlin of the day.45 minutes later we landed the monster for a nice release. Its as so good we booked another day, also with exceptional results. Pictures and more posts to follow. the 35″ Carolina classic is one of the best maintained boats I have seen in Tamorindo cruising 22 knots. I highly recommend this boat and captain. If anyone would like to verify the authenticity of this post feel free to email John at I’m even willing to speak on the phone.


I never write reviews….but these guys were great.

Frank and Mario, thanks for making our trip!

John Parmigiani
Visited August 2014

“Billfish Bonanza on Coyote Tres!”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I took a trip recently to Tamarindo with her family and fishing was a priority for the trip. We contacted multiple fishermen we know who had fished in Los Suenos but no one knew about the captains in Tamarindo. We did what internet research we could and booked with the Coyote Tres through go fish Costa Rica. We were not disappointed! Our trip was not in the peak season for marlin but that’s what we wanted to catch along with sails and that’s what we told Captain Frank and first mate Señor Mario. We started trolling a short ride from shore and about an hour into the trip we hooked up with a nice Blue. At days end we had released 2 blue 1 stripped and 3 sails and had hooked into 2 other marlin. Captain Frank and Mario will find the fish! Both Captain Frank and first mate Mario were very personable and knowledgable. Captain Frank made a homemade tuna salad for lunch that could have possibly been the best food we had in Costa Rica. Captain Frank found the fish and my friend Mario worked his butt off presenting a spread that made them bite. These boys can fish! Enough can’t be said here about how hard Frank and Mario worked to hook up and provide us with our billfish. Accommodations, treatment, and results were great. I can only imagine the fish Frank and Mario catch during peak season. Hopefully we can make it back and if so we will be fishing on Coyote Tres…. Pura Vida boys!!!!
Jordan and Courtney
Visited August 2014


WOW… 2 Blue Marlins with Coyote Sportfishing!

5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We had two great days of fishing with Captain Frank Berrocal and Mario (the first mate)…I have fished all over the world and caught almost every game fish (just missing the black marlin) that includes; Atlantic & Pacific Blue Marlin, Stripped Marlin, White Marlin, Atlantic & Pacific Sailfish & Swordfish, Tuna, Dorado, Wahoo etc. But I never caught two blue marlins in one day. The mate and the captain were very professional and care about our safety first…the equipment was the good and the boat raised the fish…it was all business with Frank & Mario once they saw the fish…they took us to the fish and we caught them…Mario allowed me to hook the fish…so many charter boat crew want the mate to hook the fish…then give the pole to angler…I would highly recommend Frank and Mario on either boat…great personality & they enjoyed their work and it shows! If you want to catch fish and have a great time with two good guys…and they both spoke very good English… Call Coyote Sport Fishing Charter…you won’t be disappointed!
Visited May 2014

“Great Crew”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Enjoyed a full day of fishing as part of a wedding party based out of Tamarindo. The crew was great and very helpful. We did not catch a lot, but it was not the best season for catching the big fish. Mario, the fisherman, was very professional and entertaining and was a big part of the whole experience. The captain allowed us to go swimming and jump off the boat to cool down in the water. A perfect day, highly recommended. Bring lots of water to drink, and make sure to bring sunscreen. As part of the trip, you will be served simple but tasty sandwiches for lunch. You might want to bring additional snacks to eat, as you burn a lot of energy moving around on the boat. You are also smart to wear clothes and footwear that can get wet, as you will have to get in and out of a little dingy that takes you out to the boat from the beach.

Visited June 2014

“We want to thank all our clients for taking the write your reviews and testimonials. We thank you for your support!”